Tennessee Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture Celebrates Awards and Initiates

Share on

2020 Gathering Held Virtually Due to Pandemic

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — The Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the International Honor Society of Agriculture, has honored outstanding students, faculty, staff and alumni at its 2020 Awards and Initiation Ceremony.

Headquartered at the UT Institute of Agriculture, the Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta recognizes leaders of Tennessee agriculture and exceptional students and faculty. The accolades included the Alumni Award for Tennessee Commissioner of Agriculture Charlie Hatcher, DVM, and the Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award for retired UT Extension agent Buddy Sanders.

Thirty-nine students from either the Herbert College of Agriculture or the College of Veterinary Medicine were initiated into the society. The ceremony was held virtually on November 20 because of the pandemic. The complete list of award winners is below.

Herbert College of Agriculture
Freshman Award, Sneh Patel, Food Science
Sophomore Award, Taryn Harris, Animal Science
Junior Award, Garrett Franklin, Animal Science
Senior Award, Ashely Epstein, Wildlife & Fisheries Science
Masters Award, Jonathan Kubesch, Plant Sciences
PhD Award, Jessica Klabnik, Animal Science

College of Veterinary Medicine
First Year Award, McKenzie (Lindley) Kimbrough
Second Year Award, Brian GleavesThird Year Award, Sarah (Bell) Layne

Teaching Award, David Butler, Plant Sciences

Research Award, Phil Myer, Animal Science

Extension Award, Natalie Bumgarner, Plant Sciences

Team Award

Biomass Conversion Team:
Nikki Labbe, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
Nour Abdoulmoumine, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science

Alumni Award, Dr. Charles Hatcher – Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Agriculture

Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award, E.W. (Buddy) Sanders

Initiates to the society include members of the UTIA faculty and staff as well as students:

UTIA Staff and Faculty (by department)
Sarah Moorey- Animal Science
Kyle McLean- Animal Science
Daniel Matthew- Animal Science
Katie Mason – Animal Science
Elizabeth Eckelkamp- Animal Science
Alicia Rihn – Agricultural and Resource Economics
Ricky Chen – Agricultural and Resource Economics

Students (alphabetical by department or major)

Agricultural and Resource Economics
Riley Denton
Tyler Georgeadis
Luis Vizcaya

Agriculture Leadership, Education and Communications
Catherine Martella

Animal Science
Thomas Beech
Benti Gelalcha
Kelly Melvin
Cassidy Price
Taylor Seay
Amanda Young
Caitlin Zaring

Animal Science, Pre-Vet
Caroline Downes
Kellie McCreight

Biosystems Engineering and Soil Sciences
Rounak Patra
Brea Sorrells

Biosystems Engineering and Soil Sciences/Plant, Soil and Environmental Science
Alexis Gilmore

Entomology and Plant Pathology
Rufus Akinrinlola
Trinity Hamm
Matthew Longmire

Food and Agriculture Business
Weston Box

Plant Sciences
Paolo Tagaloguin                  

Plant, Soil and Environmental Science
Devon Carrol
Dereck Corbin
Marcia Quinby

Veterinary Medicine
Haley Cremerius
Erin Duble
Ashley Goldacker
Sabrina Hall
Emily Kent
Elizabeth Molinet
Julia Mykins
Nicole Nanof
Seqouyah Pace
Sarah Smith
Robert Stilz
Jenna Sullivan
Haley Sutton

Wildlife and Fisheries Science
Brittany Panos
Brianna Saylor

The 2020 officers of the Tennessee Chapter include associate professor of agricultural and resource economics Aaron Smith, president; assistant professor of plant sciences Virginia Sykes, secretary; UT Gardens horticulturalist Alice Clark, treasurer; UT Beef and Forage Center coordinator David McIntosh, strategic communications; and professor of plant sciences Annette Wszelaki, who served as awards committee chair.

Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions. utia.tennessee.edu.

Media Contact

Patricia McDaniels

UTIA Marketing and Communications